In The Highs And Lows

Today was an eventful day. I travelled between two different hospitals, one for a birth and one for an emergency. Great exciting news and not so great news.

First, I went to the hospital where my best friend was going to deliver her baby. I was so excited on the way over there, I was singing and praising God, thanking Him for His blessings and this beautiful moment that was going to be experienced.

While there, I got a message from my mom saying she was in the ER at a different hospital. I rushed out, headed to her. I felt very conflicted– I wanted to be there for my best friend to have her first baby, but I also wanted to be with my mom.

On the way to my mom, I thought about earlier in the day, when I was dancing and praising the Lord, and I asked myself, “Why did this have to happen? Today was going so well.” Almost immediately after I said that, a verse came to mind. “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16 – 18) Instead of allowing myself to become upset I decided to thank God for everything. I thanked Him for healing my mom and for a healthy and safe delivery. I prayed about the situation, lifting my momma and best friend (and baby) up to Him. I said, “God, You are holy. And You are good.”

We have to train our brains to think Godly not worldly. If you can do that, you will be able to respond to situations instead of react to them.

My best friend had a healthy delivery and my momma was sent home. Praise the Lord.

With love and grace, have a blessed day.

Leave a Reply

